Let’s look a numbers for a minute . . .
I gather from what I’ve read on this forum that a 300 dog day is considered a good day. 300 dogs at say $2.00 profit per dog is $600. Factor in fees, permits, insurance, gas, and other expenses not actually included in cost the product itself brings that down to $500 net – on a good day. On a bad day, it rains and you don’t work at all, or you only sell 50 dogs. You break even.
So let’s assume 150 dogs is an average day: $300 profit. Times five days that’s $1500 a week before taxes. You operate the stand only in the summer months, so times 26 weeks a year earns you roughly around $40k a year.
Now, I’ll take you out of the hot sun, and put you inside a nice, climate controlled stand, give you a salary you can count on every week, rain or shine, summer or winter. You don’t have to worry about any overhead: no fees, licenses, permits, supply costs, insurance, utilities, advertising expenses, business loans, etc.
I myself will inventory and stock the business. You don’t even have to do that. Your only responsibility is to keep the place clean and running to code, and to serve up good food with a friendly smile, and also to supervise the couple of kids I’ve hired to help you.
Given that situation, what kind of salary would seem fair and reasonable to you?